Independent Spirit Awards: 12 Years a Slave Sweeps

by at .  Updated at . Comments

The 2014 Independent Spirit Awards were handed out down on the beach in Santa Monica with 12 Years a Slave winning huge.

12 Years a Slave Star Michael Fassbender

On the eve of the Oscars, the annual Independent Spirit Awards salute the best and brightest of independent cinema and there were few surprises as it was expected that 12 Years a Slave would win big.

12 Years a Slave took Best Feature, Best Director for Steve McQueen, Best Supporting Actress for Lupita Nyong’O and Best Cinematography.

The other three acting awards went to the favorites to win Oscars at the Dolby Theater in Hollywood during the big show hosted by Ellen DeGeneres. Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto each won for Dallas Buyers Club and Cate Blanchett won for Blue Jasmine.

How will this influence the Oscars? Check out our Oscar predictions and see!

2014 Independent Spirit Awards Winners:

Best Feature
12 Years a Slave

Best Director
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

Best Screenplay
John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Best Male Lead
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Female
Lupita Nyong’O, 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Male
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best First Feature
Fruitvale Station

Best First Screenplay
Bob Nelson, Nebraska

Best Cinematography
12 Years a Slave

Best Editing
Short Term 12

Best Documentary
20 Feet from Stardom

Best International Film
Blue is the Warmest Color, France

John Cassavetes Award for films made under $500,000
This is Martin Bonner

You can check out some of the Independent Spirit Awards winners right now! Watch Dallas Buyers Club online and you can watch Blue Jasmine online!

FREE Movie Newsletter